Skip Navigation
Print Email Facebook Tweet Share
Text Size: A A A

National Prevention Council Members

The National Prevention, Health Promotion, and Public Health Council (National Prevention Council), called for by the Affordable Care Act, provides coordination and leadership at the federal level regarding prevention, wellness, and health promotion practices. It is composed of the heads of 20 federal agencies and chaired by Surgeon General Regina Benjamin.

On June 10, the President signed an Executive Order creating the National Prevention Council within the Department of Health and Human Services. Council members are cabinet secretaries, chairs, directors, or administrators of federal departments. Such high profile involvement demonstrates an unprecedented commitment to prevention and wellness in the US health care system. The National Prevention Council comprises these members: